Wealthy Health-Wise

keeping it small & simple

Guess who’s coming to dinner? March 16, 2010

Filed under: Detox,Health,Lifestyle,Uncategorized — Kazi @ 5:03 pm
Tags: , , , ,

When we last tuned in,our hero had been fasting for about 2 days and was experiencing symptoms like voices encouraging him to “just say no” , grab a pizza and stop trying to act like a monk.  Well by day three that all passed.  I fact, I was feeling so good on day 4 (which was my day to break the fast on raw food) that I decided to go an extra day (to teach my self a lesson. Ha).  So on saturday I broke the fast and lived on raw food for the next three days.  Needless to say, I feel great.

Eat Me

I did workout on the third day of the fast.  I was able to get about 1/2 way through the strength training routine I had planned.  But started to feel a bit lite in the head, so I cut the workout short to be on the safe side.  I tried this once before and ended up with the same results.  So, I would concur with most who advise against any type of strenuous activity on a liquid fast.  When you can feel your heart beating in your hands and feet.  It’s not really a good sign.

I broke the fast on simple raw food detox diet of spinach, snow peas, and mushroom salad.  I supplemented this with a miso broth.  These are nutritious, easy to prepare, tasty and have enough fiber to get the old GI system up and running again.  I also took some acidopholus tablets to restoring some good bacteria to my bowels.  The day after I started eating, I began having bowel movements again. Oh yeah, forgot to mention; I didn’t have a bowel movement for about 3 1/2 days.  This is common when fasting if your not also taking some type of laxative.  Or should I say, it’s common for me.

So that’s about it. Not exciting stuff, but I hopefully gave you some insight into what to expect on a short fast/detox (4 days fasting and 3 days raw).  If your interested in incorporating fasting or seasonal detoxing into your lifestyle and would like a personalized program, hit my inbox at  ibnallahskazi@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

