Wealthy Health-Wise

keeping it small & simple

Magnolias, Lilac and Sage – Oh my! April 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kazi @ 9:30 pm
Tags: , ,

Here I go again. Running my mouth about the spectacle of spring. I can’t help it. Ever since I was a child, spring always had a way of capturing my attention and giving and connecting me to the earth. It’s as if the world just becomes a much Kinder and Gentler (my favorite Bushism) planet, with unending opportunities for discovery.

So, I bump into my neighbor Joann today. She insist I come and experience the aromatic cacophony unfolding in her backyard. Her two big magnolia trees blossomed last week and are dropping the petals all over the place. Now if you have ever seen magnolias in bloom, I don’t have to tell you, it’s a beautiful sight. They are hot pink,white and large. The flip side is when the petals fall they decompose very quickly and turn brown. Not pretty. But the fragrance is fabulous. It takes over the air.

Next, we walk over to the lilac tree. You have to get very close to smell the fragrance, but when you get a whiff, man it’s heaven. Not to mention, the lilac flowers are some of natures eye candy.

In the back of the yard are three tall pine trees. Because the one in the middle is the tallest and they are so close together, the actually look like one huge pine from afar. When we walked up to the pines, the scent of pine needles made a bee line for my olfactory nerve. I got a rush that any drug addict worth there salt would die for. Ok, my secret is out. I am a certified tree huger. I’m not ashamed to claim it. I’m secure in my masculinity 🙂

Last on the list was the herb garden. The leaves of sage and thyme were just making their appearance, but their odor was already strong. I found the thyme to have a spicy odor. The sage reminded me of an astringent type of sour. Fresh herbs added to your food (at the right moment) in addition to the nutrients and flavor the contribute, bring fragrances that supplement the saying of grace They alert the taste bud and the digestive system to prep the house for the family reunion that is about to occur. We are what we eat.

So Kazi, that all sounds real nice and natury (I made that word up), but what does it all have to do with health and fitness. Well, whole health goes beyond working out and eating a balanced diet. A healthy lifestyle attunes you to the gifts, wonder and downright awesomeness of the everyday world around us. The ability to appreciate the simple things, the natural things, is a sign of a healthy body and psyche.

We spend so much time looking for happiness in things that have to be acquired or achieved. As if happiness has to be earned. I know this is the common sensors view of the world. And I agree that happiness can be found in our achievements and acquisitions. But the foundation of our happiness is in our ability to Be. Be-hold the miracle that is the earth. Be-hold the miracle of the creatures of the earth. Be-hold the miracle that is you and I. Be-hold the happiness shared by a flower dying. Grateful to have lived for just a few days. Just to remind us that we all have our time to shine and open the way for the next performance of natures show.

Let’s show our gratefulness for our common home. When nature smile on us, smile back.

muchpeaceluv,

Kazi

PS. Check out my upcoming Seated Massage Workshop

www.mybodytemple.net
www.mybodyfitbootcamp.com
www.twitter.com/50andFit

 

2 Responses to “Magnolias, Lilac and Sage – Oh my!”

  1. GinaMae Says:

    I really enjoyed your post & was right there in your neighbors back yard with you… Very nice writing… I have the lilac trees-& a magnolia bush- but wish I had that Herb Garden… Gotta make That happen!

  2. Kazi Says:

    Thanks GinaMae,
    I’ve got a feeling that herb garden is coming real soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

