Wealthy Health-Wise

keeping it small & simple

A step in Time April 21, 2010

Filed under: Fitness,Health,Lifestyle — Kazi @ 10:53 am
Tags: , ,

Running and Jogging is not something I do often. I kinda like my Knees and shins just the way they are. And at age 50, can’t see any real benefit in pounding the pavement everyday.  But, occasionally I get an urge to run.  So I go to my local park and put in a couple of miles.

To make it interesting, I incorporate a few strength exercises along the way.  I have found this to really add to the workout. I guess it helps ME because, in addition to the above. Jogging can get to be a bit boring.  Especially running around a track.  Which is something I haven’t done in years.

By adding some body weight exercises to your jogging routine you create a great interval workout and reduce boredom at the same time (read efficient).  Did I mention no equipment required.

Here is the workout I have planned for today:

  • Start off at a slow pace
  • after 5 minutes pick up speed (still jogging, not running)
  • at 3 min. stop – 20 power squats
  • resume jog
  • after 2 min sprint equivalent of about 20 yards
  • resume jog
  • at 3 min. stop – 20 push ups
  • resume jog
  • after 2 min. sprint
  • resume jog
  • at 3 min. stop – 10 reverse lunges (stepping back)
  • resume jog
  • after 2 min. sprint
  • resume jog
  • after 3min stop – 20 crunches
  • follow with Walking Stretch Routine

This should take all of 30 min. to complete. You can use this as is or replace with your own exercises and intervals.

muchpeace,
Kazi

PS. Free Pre-Boot Camp continues Thursday. 5 sessions remaining.
www.mybodytemple.net
www.mybodyfitbootcamp.com
www.twitter.com/50andFit

kazi@mybdoytemple.net

 

Leave a Reply

